In the News


June 22, 2016 Department of Molecular Microbiology Fellowships for 2017 announced. Read more.
March 2016 Dr. Christina Stallings has been awarded the R33 phase of her NIH project titled “Targeting a New Essential Virulence Mechanism in Drug-resistant Mycobacteria”
  Dr. Joe Vogel has been awarded a new NIH R21 titled “Characterization of Legionella type IV secretion signals”.
February 2016 Dr. Scott Hultgren has been awarded a renewal of his NIH R01 titled “Pathogenic Fiber Formation in Bacteria: Structural Basis”.
  Dr. Jennifer Lodge has been awarded a new NIH R01 titled “Preclinical Studies of a Cryptococcus Vaccine for AIDS Patients”.
  Dr. Niraj Tolia, along with Dr. Gautam Dantas (Department of Pathology & Immunology) and Dr. Timothy Wencewiz (Department of Chemistry), has been awarded a new NIH R01 titled “Structural, mechanistic, & evolutionary characterization of tetracycline destructases”.
January 2016 Dr. Efrem Lim has been awarded a project from the St. Louis Zoo titled “Discovery of Novel Lemur Viruses”.
December 9, 2015 Goldberg named Kipnis Distinguished Professor.<a href=""> Read More
November 2015 Dr. Dave Wang will lead a project titled “RNA Phage Mediated Microbiome Engineering” with funding from Grand Challenges Explorations, an initiative of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.